Wigleaf’s 50 of 2009

Every year the online magazine Wigleaf publishes a list of the top 50 short shorts published the year before. And they just put up this year’s collection. Of course I haven’t already read through them all, but at least a few of my favorite magazines (at left) are included. And there are quite a few from SmokeLong Quarterly, Juked, and elimae (as usual!).

Also on the list is someone who’s quickly becoming my new favorite author: Kevin Wilson. His story, “Hail Vulgar Juice of Never-Fading Pine,” originally published here at Juked, made the list. And I am certainly not surprised. I actually just finished his literary debut, Tunneling to the Center of the Earth, a collection of short stories, and I’ll be posting all about that soon (I think that might be my first picture!).

So go check it out!

I’m officially putting “get into Wigleaf’s Top 50” on my list of things to do before I die. Officially. The first step though, it seems, would be to write something worthy. I’m gonna go get on that.

Leave a Reply

