Why I Hate Library Books

I’m in the middle of T.C. Boyle’s The Inner Circle, a book I borrowed from the library, and I think I’ve finally figured out why I hate library books: They remind me of the disrespect the average person (even the average reading person) has for books. While I hold (most) books in high regard, the average person dog-ears books without a second thought. He spills liquid on the page and hesitates before cleaning it up.

On the other hand, I have never dog-eared a page. I think about doing it and I think about the words it will be covering, the words it will be creasing, and the designer who took the time to put them there in the first place – and I can’t do it.

I’d rather buy my own copy, thank you.

One thought on “Why I Hate Library Books

Leave a Reply

