Hunt for 100 & The Ice Storm

My Twenty Ten resolution isn’t exactly to ‘read 100 books.’ It’s more like, ‘read as often as you can and keep track of what you read so you don’t forget what you’ve read.’ But it would be pretty sweet if I could actually read 100 books this year. That’s like a book every 3.5 days.

Can it be done (in the midst of junior/senior year, internships, etc.)? We shall see.

I’m off to a good start, though, I just finished The Ice Storm by Rick Moody. Did it within three days, too. Ok, so I started it before the new year…it’s my resolution and I can do what I want.

I enjoyed it immensely. Each of Moody’s characters makes some sort of growth in the novel – there’s hardly a static character around. And they were all (relatively) sympathetic. It felt like my emotions were being directed along a certain path, like Moody knew exactly what he was doing to me. It was refreshing.

And apparently it’s a movie. Maybe I’ll go and watch it – especially since there’s an essay by Moody in the back about having his work adapted to the screen. Could be interesting.

Also, I now have a Twitter.

Leave a Reply

