Design Things

1. Yesterday we ordered the 750 copies of the 39th Emerson Review. I can’t being to explain how exciting that is! I’m mostly thrilled because it’s easily the most adorable thing I’ve designed (so far). I don’t want to spoil the surprise of what animal is on the cover…but it is the cutest ever (courtesy of Gabi Soria).

2. I’m redesigning Stephen Crane’s novella Maggie: A Girl of the Streets for my book design course. It’s pretty Helvetica-heavy, which some of my classmates are giving me crap about, but I think it’s looking classicly edgy – and seeing as my goal is to make it look like a book Urban Outfitters would sell, I think I’m headed in the right direction. Can’t wait to finish and show off some copies!

3. The copies of the Stork short-short edition arrived and they are STUNNING. Kristine and I pretty much killed it.

4. I’ve begun working with the design team at em Magazine, essentially Emerson’s Cosmo. I was hesitant at first, since I don’t have any (current) interest in the magazine industry, but so far I’m enjoying the group-design environment, and I’m confident we’ll produce something exciting. I mean…this is my first magazine, so it’s pretty exciting anyway!

5. Kristine and I have started thinking about the Spring’s full-length Stork. I don’t want to say too much, but our theme is BLUE, our song is Pomplamoose’s cover of “Telephone,” and we both REALLY LIKE the idea of spot gloss.

Leave a Reply

