Representation

I finished Isherwood’s novella A Single Man. I just wish I had finished while the movie was still in theaters. I’m one of those people who won’t see a book-based movie unless I read the book first. But this often means I miss the movie. Sigh.

I appreciate the book for its subtlety, something I strive for in my own writing. The reader shouldn’t be given all the answers, all the plot. And I liked how Isherwood didn’t lay everything out, but alluded to events that happened before the actual story, then played with emotion through setting. This is probably more common than I’m aware of, but it was a nice way to represent the characters.

Speaking of representation, I’ve recently changed my facebook name to a phonetic spelling of my name, mostly to make it harder for people to find me. I like to pretend I’m mysterious. Most of the comments I’ve received have been positive, but I can’t help but feel it’s a bit juvenile. Thoughts?

One thought on “Representation

  1. I started a single man also but didn’t finish it. I watched the movie in theaters and never got around to finishing the book. From what I read though I liked it.

Leave a Reply

