Verse Novella Update, Day 10

It is June 10. Of the 30 days I gave myself to write this novella-in-verse, 10 are gone. That’s a third.

Oh goodness.

I have written about seven pages so far. I don’t know if that’s good or bad. I can tell you the following:

It’s written in non-rhyming couplets.
It’s got some pretty awesome line breaks.
There’s god-sex in it.
The speaker’s name is Henry.
He works in a pool hall in the Midwest.
He is a Catholic Navajo.
That is a major source of conflict.

So far I’m happy on the language/imagery front, but not so much the story (which, as one might imagine, is semi-difficult to construct in an image-heavy poem). We’ll see.

And it’s probably not going to be as long as I’d anticipated. I was hoping for 40 pages, but it’ll probably end up in the 15-20 page range. Again, we’ll see.

Also, I’m humbled by and thankful for the number of people who have volunteered to read it and send criticism when it’s completed – especially people from outside the Emerson community like Tim Jones-Yelvington and Molly Gaudry, who are much too kind for no apparent reason. Lucky, I am.

If you’d like to read it, too, just let me know. I plan to mail them (yes, via USPS) on July 1, complete with response envelopes and everything.

Leave a Reply

