2011 Book 6: The Hour of the Star

I was assigned Clarice Lispector’s The Hour of the Star for my Latin American Literature course. I’m starting to wonder if I’ll like any of the books my professor chose.

I recognize its importance in depicting the serious social problems of Brazil in that era, and at times I found Macabea’s plight and sadness quite beautiful. But I wanted to punch the narrator in the throat. Everything about his storytelling offended me—doing so many things I’ve been taught not to: addressing the reader, stating it isn’t a story worth telling, wondering about his inspiration, etc. I understand this was purposeful on Lispector’s part, to show the stereotypical writer, but I find that completely unnecessary. Everyone already has their image of what a writer is; there’s no need to write about it.

But, you know, whatever.

Leave a Reply

