2011 Book 7: Normally Special

When I heard Roxane Gay started a tiny, hardcore press, I knew I would buy whatever it was she published. She has incredible taste and I will follow her around like a puppy until I no longer think she has incredible taste—which I don’t foresee happening anytime soon.

The first book is xTx‘s Normally Special, and it is indeed both tiny and hardcore. I love that the name of the press accurately describes its books. It makes things so much simpler.

The only thing I don’t like about xTx is that she goes by xTx. I’m sure there’s a legitimate reason (and I think I read about it somewhere), but I wish she would just own it, because her characters usually do.

Anyway, there’s nothing I can say to accurately describe how wonderful this book is (one of the best $10 I’ll spend this year), so I will leave you with my favorite bit, from her story “Fireflies”:

What I do remember most though are the fireflies, and how she proved that they were real by squishing one across her palm. It left a fluorescent streak. It made me feel like screaming.

2 thoughts on “2011 Book 7: Normally Special

Leave a Reply

